Multi-Port bone surgery using the example of the temporal bone, second funding period

DFG-Forschergruppe FOR 1585

The DFG - funded research-project 'Multi-Port Knochenchirurgie am Beispiel der Otobasis (MUKNO)' (Multi-Port bone surgery using the example of the temporal bone) is a cooperation between the clinic for otorhinolaryngology of the University Hospital Düsseldorf, the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of the RWTH Aachen University and the Interactive Graphics Systems Group (GRIS) of TU Darmstadt. Additionally, for the current, second funding period, the project group for Automation in Medicine and Biotechnology (PAMB) based in Mannheim was introduced into the research group.
The research project focuses on the investigation of surgical procedures at the otobasis. By introducing minimally invasive surgery techniques, we aim to minimize tissue damage and the impact of the surgery. The challenge of these surgical procedures is to not damage vital structures, e.g. the internal acoustic meatus or the carotid artery. In current surgical practise, the surgeon has to uncover the anatomical structures. The risk to the patients health is increased by the larger surgical area and the higher complication probablity.

While procedures with 3 linear, i.e. straight, drilling channels have been investigated in the first funding period, we are developing robot-based drilling methods featuring curved drilling channels in the second period. The target region is reached through these curved channels with the surgical instruments. A navigation and control system assists the surgeon in the planning and the drilling phases. The robotic system is introduced into the investigation of the managebility over the procedure and its process chain.
In order to keep the complication rate below 0.5% within the whole process-chain, several error sources from different phases have to be taken into account. These phases can be grouped into pre-operative (image acquisition, segmentation as well as registration and positioning of the drilling device) and intra-operative phases (measurement of the postion, control and visualization of the drilling device).

Sub-projects during the second funding period of MUKNO

The Interactive Graphics Systems Group (GRIS) of TU Darmstadt is responsible for two sub-projects:

 

Computer-aided planning of non-linear access paths

First step of the planning is the acquisition of CT-images of the otobasis. The individual risk structures have to be segmented from this data in order to create a 3D-model. This model of the otobasis will then be used to calculate multiple access paths for the operation.
 

Segmentation

During the research project MUKNO I segmentation of the individual risk structures was done with the probabilistic active shape model (PASM). Thereby a semi-automatic procedure to create a 3D-model for the planning of linear access paths could be achieved. However, initialization of the statistical models was performed manually. In the second phase of the project the accuracy of the segmentation shall be further increased and a fully automated segmentation procedure shall be developed.
 

Planning

Due to the mechanic of the drilling unit the access paths need to fulfill certain differential constraints (2 times continuously differentiable, limited curvature). To compute the most suitable access paths algorithms in the field of motion planning, specifically of nonholonomic path planning, will be investigated. In particular, the focus lies on the optimization of these paths with regard to medical parameters.

Contact: Johannes Fauser

 
 

Navigation of the drilling device

The drilling device cuts curved drilling channels and removes excavated bone and tissue. In order to control this process, it is necessary, to measure the position and orientation of the drilling device. The Difference of the measured values and the position and orientation according to the planned trajectory leads to adjustments of the control value. The current position and deviations to the planned trajectory are visualized for the surgeon intra-operatively. If the deviations to the planned trajectory are larger than allowed in the pre-operative planning phase, the surgeon has to decide about an adaptation of the trajectory or the termination of the procedure.

Contact: David Kügler

 

Position and orientation of the drilling-device

The measurement of the position and orientation of the drilling-device is a pre-requisite for its visualization and control. It is essential to achieve a high measurement accuracy, since the anatomical structures of the otobasis are very small. The detection of the drilling-device in high-resolution X-ray images leads to high spatial accuracy, but the intense radiation exposure limits the feasible sampling-rate. Furthermore, it is not possible to reconstruct the rotation around the central axis (roll) in adequate accuracy. Therefore, we are developing a hybrid system. This system is based on the combination of an electromagnetic tracking system and a c-arm X-ray unit. We expect to achieve high accuracy in time and spatial dimensions with this system.

 

Trajectory Control

Despite deviations from the planned trajectory, the system must stay within the stable and secure state space as imposed by the surgeon. These deviations can be caused by disturbances and errors including inhomogeneous tissue structures, model-based uncertainties and measurement-inaccuracies. The correction of deviations is the task of the control system. The trajectory control creates an updated trajectory from the planned trajectory and the current measured position and orientation for small deviations. If major deviations are present, alternative trajectories will be planned and approved by the surgeon. A control system, that connects these apporaches and chooses from the different strategies, has to be developed. This includes criteria for the selection of the strategies.

 

Visualization of the drilling progress and current deviations

The visualization displays and clearly communicates the anatomical structures, the drilling-device and its state including the deviations from the planned trajectory for the surgeon. The tool enables the surgeon to evaluate the current situation and intervene at any given time. Together with the plannung tool, these interfaces implement all communication between the surgeon and the automated system.

Contact

Technische Universität Darmstadt

Interactive Graphics Systems Group

Fraunhoferstr. 5
64283 Darmstadt

Tel. +49 6151 155 679

icon email office@gris.tu-

A A A | Print Print | Legal note Legal Notes | Contact Contact
to topto top

Multi-Port Knochenchirurgie am Beispiel der Otobasis, zweite Förderphase

DFG-Forschergruppe FOR 1585

Das DFG-Forschungsprojekt "Multi-Port Knochenchirurgie am Beispiel der Otobasis" (MUKNO) ist eine Kooperation zwischen der Hals-Nasen-Ohren-Klinik in Düsseldorf, dem Werkzeugmaschinenlabor in Aachen und dem Fachgebiet "Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme" in Darmstadt. Mit der zweiten Förderphase wurde die Kooperation um die "Projektgruppe für Automatisierung in der Medizin und Biotechnologie des Fraunhofer IPA" in Mannheim erweitert.
Das Ziel des Forschungsprojektes ist, die Durchführung gewebeschonender Operationsverfahren an der Otobasis zu untersuchen. Die Herausforderung von Operationen an der Otobasis ist, keine vitalen Strukturen wie z. B. Gehörgänge oder Halsschlagader zu verletzen. Die aktuelle klinische Herangehensweise ist die Freilegung aller Kollisionsstrukturen durch den Chirurg. Der Umfang dieses Eingriffes bedeutet jedoch ein hohes Risiko für den Patienten.

Nachdem in der ersten Förderphase der Eingriff mittels 3 linearer Bohrkanäle untersucht wurde, werden in der zweiten Förderphase robotische Bohrverfahren für gekrümmte Bohrkanäle entwickelt und untersucht. Der Zugang zur Operationsstelle erfolgt mit den Instrumenten durch die gekrümmten Kanäle. Ein Navigations- und Kontrollsystem unterstützt den Arzt bei der Planung und Durchführung der Bohrungen.
Bei der Untersuchung der Beherrschbarkeit der Prozesskette wird diese um das robotischen System erweitert. Um die Komplikationsrate unter 0.5% zu halten, werden die Fehler aller Glieder der Prozesskette berücksichtigt. Die Prozesskette besteht aus den prä-operativen (Bildaufnahme, Segmentierung, Registrierung und Positionierung der Bohreinheit) und den intra-operativen (Lagebestimmung, Regelung und Visualisierung der Bohreinheit) Schritten.

Teilprojekte der zweiten Förderphase von MUKNO

Am Fachgebiet "Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme" werden die Aufgabenpakete aus zwei Teilprojekten bearbeitet:

 

Computergestützte Planung nichtlinearer Zugangswege

Erster Schritt der Operationsplanung ist eine CT-Aufnahme der Otobasis. Aus diesen CT-Daten müssen die einzelnen Risikostrukturen segmentiert werden um so ein 3D-Modell zu erzeugen, das als Grundlage für die Planung mehrerer Bohrpfade verwendet werden kann.
 

Segmentierung

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts MUKNO I wurde die Segmentierung der einzelnen Strukturen mit Hilfe des Probabilistic Active Shape Models (PASM) untersucht. Dabei konnte eine semi-automatische Erstellung des 3D-Modells zur Planung linearer Bohrpfade erreicht werden, wobei die Initialisierung der einzelnen statistischen Modelle des PASM noch manuell durchgeführt wurde. Im zweiten Teil der Forschungsphase soll nun die Genauigkeit der Segmentierung weiter verbessert und eine vollautomatische Segmentierung durch geeignete Methoden der Initialisierung erreicht werden.
 

Planung

Aufgrund der Mechanik des Bohrers müssen die Zugangswege nach aktuellem Entwicklungsstand 2-fach stetig differenzierbaren Kurven mit eingeschränkter Krümmung entsprechen. Um die am besten geeignetsten Pfade zu berechnen, werden Algorithmen des Motion Planning, im Speziellen der nichtholonomen Pfadplanung, untersucht und weiterentwickelt. Insbesondere soll dabei auf die Optimierung der Zugangswege hinsichtlich medizinisch relevanter Parameter eingegangen werden.

Kontakt: Johannes Fauser

 
 

Navigation der Bohreinheit

Die Bohreinheit trägt Gewebe ab, erzeugt Vorschub und legt gekrümmte Bohrkanäle an. Zur Kontrolle des Prozesses muss die Lage der Bohreinheit (Position und Orientierung) vermessen werden. Abweichungen von der geplanten Trajektorie fließen durch die Regelung in neue Stellimpulse ein. Zur Kontrolle und Beobachtung durch den Arzt werden die aktuelle Lage und Abweichungen von der Planung während des Eingriffes dargestellt. Sind die Abweichungen größer als das vom Arzt zuvor bestätigte sichere Fenster, legt der Arzt das weitere Vorgehen fest.

Kontakt: David Kügler

 

Lagebestimmung der Bohreinheit

Als Basis für die Regelung und die Visualisierung muss die Lage der Bohreinheit bestimmt werden. Da die anatomischen Strukturen in der Otobasis sehr klein sind, muss eine hohe Genauigkeit erzielt werden. Eine hohe räumliche Genauigkeit wird durch die Aufnahme von Röntgenbildern erreicht. Wegen der damit verbundenen Strahlenbelastung ist die Abtastrate beschränkt. Zusätzlich lässt sich die Rotation um die Mittelachse nicht in ausreichender Genauigkeit aus den Bildern rekonstruieren, deshalb wird ein hybrides System aus C-Bogen und Elektromagnetischem Trackingsystem aufgebaut. Durch die Fusion der Messdaten soll eine hohe Genauigkeit sowohl in der zeitlichen als auch in der räumlichen Dimension erreicht werden.

 

Bahnregelung

Trotz Abweichungen von der geplanten Trajektorie aufgrund von Störeinflüssen, wie zum Beispiel inhomogener Gewebestruktur, Modellfehlern und Positionierungsungenauigkeit auftreten, darf das Gesamtsystem nie den "stabilen" und sicheren Zustandsbereich verlassen, der durch den Arzt vorgegeben wurde. Für diese Aufgabe ist die Regelung verantwortlich. Bei kleinen Abweichungen von der geplanten Trajektorie korrigiert die Regelung vollautomatisch die Stellgrößen der Bohreinheit. Bei größeren Abweichungen werden alternative Trajektorien geplant, welche vom Arzt freigegeben werden. Dazu muss eine Regelungssoftware geschaffen werden und geeignete Kriterien für die verschiedenen Vorgehensweisen gefunden werden.

 

Visualisierung des Bohrfortschrittes und aktueller Abweichungen

Zur Visualisierung wird ein Tool (weiter-)entwickelt, welches die Bohreinheit, die Abweichugen von der geplanten Trajektorie und die anatomischen Strukturen für den Arzt aufbereitet und darstellt. Das Tool versetzt den Arzt in die Lage zu jedem Zeitpunkt die aktuelle Situation einschätzen zu können und bei Bedarf einzugreifen. Durch die Konzeption zusammen mit der Schnittstelle zur Planung ist es die zentrale Benutzerschnittstelle für den Arzt.

Kontakt

Technische Universität Darmstadt

Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme

Fraunhoferstr. 5
64283 Darmstadt

Tel. +49 6151 155 679

icon email office@gris.tu-

A A A | Print Drucken | Legal note Impressum | Contact Kontakt
to topto top